NEED HELP IMMEDIATELY?
- TALK TO AN ATTORNEY 24/7: (786) 361-4037
- ADDRESS: 11401 SW 40th St Suite 204, Miami, FL 33165
- WORKING HOURS: 24 Hours A Day, 7 Days A Week
- EMAIL: firstname.lastname@example.org
- CATEGORY Personal Injury
Under Florida law, a moped is defined as a vehicle that has (1) a seat for the rider, (2) pedals that allow you to propel the vehicle, (3) three wheels or fewer, (4) a motor of two-brake horsepower or less, (5) a maximum speed of 30 MPH on level ground, (6) an automatic power-drive system that does not require the rider to manually change gears, and (7) a displacement of 50 cc or less. If your vehicle exceeds these specifications, it is classified as a motorcycle.
In Florida, moped drivers must have a valid Class E driver’s license and be at least 16 years old to drive a moped on a public road. Mopeds are not allowed to be driven on bike or foot paths, and all passengers 16 years old or under must wear a helmet. There are also no insurance requirements in Florida for owning and/or operating a moped. Moped accident cases can be very complex and have many nuances. If you or someone you know has been involved in a moped accident in South Florida, call us at (786) 361-4037. We may be able to assist you. All consultations are free.